Latest Partner News

WAVE – GOTIK – TREFFEN 2017 Festival Preview

News image

WAVE – GOTIK – TREFFEN 2017 Festival Preview – by Fotini G. aka Malice F. WAVE – GOTIK – TREFFEN 2017: dark-romantic celebrations every year at Whitsun in Leipzig - Germany Festival Preview - by Malice F. The biggest worldwide music -and not only- gothic festival is back for the 26th consecutive year. There is not a single fan of the new & dark Wave/ EBM/ Industrial/ Neofolk /Gothic/ Post Punk scene that hasn’t heard of and furthermore hasn’t dreamt...

Latest Partner Label News

WGT Festival 2017 : Aktuell haben 83 Künstler ihren Auftritt zugesagt.

News image

WGT Festival 2017 : Aktuell haben 83 Künstler ihren Auftritt zugesagt. 13th Monkey (D) - Aeon Sable (D) - Ah Cama-Sotz (B) - Ah! Kosmos (TR) - Amanda Palmer (Dresden Dolls) & Edward Ka-Spel (Legendary Pink Dots) (USA/NL) - Andi Sexgang (GB) Akustikkonzert - Andyra (D) - Angels & Agony (NL) - Annwn (D) - Autodafeh (S) - Azar Swan (USA) - B-Movie (GB) - Besides (PL) - BFG (GB) - Black Nail Cabaret (H) - Bloody, Dead & Sexy...

Latest Partner Label News

Our latest NEWS updates

XIII. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2017

News image

XIII. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2017 22. & 23.07.2017 – COLOGNE | TANZBRUNNEN EISBRECHER, APOPTYGMA BERZERK, COMBICHRIST KIRLIAN CAMERA, DAS ICH & MANY MORE AT AMPHI 2017 Dear Amphi Fans,  Autumn is here and it’s getting cold. Time to get stovestoking, throwing some hot coals into the flame which ignites the Amphi Festival 2017. Therefore today’s programme update comes along heavily packed. Not only with full throttle rock and chunky electrobeats but also with a few surprises to discover. Let’s lift the...

Latest

VII. E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL 2017

News image

VII. E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL 2017 COVENANT, AGONOIZE UND [X]-RX BESTÄTIGT Am 18. März 2017 wird Oberhausen erneut zur Hauptstadt der düsteren Electrobeats. „BÄSSER-HÄRTER-LAUTER“ in der Turbinenhalle mit den Hochkarätern aus EBM, ELECTROPOP, SYNTHPOP und INDUSTRIAL. Zu den 11 bestätigten Bands gesellen sich nun drei weitere Kracher, die es in sich haben: COVENANTAGONOIZE[X]-RX Mit ihrem im November erscheinenden Album „The Blinding Dark“ läuten COVENANT drei Jahre nach „Leaving Babylon“ das nächste Kapitel ein. Dabei lassen es sich die Gentleman-Klangpioniere um den charismatischen...

Latest

Promotional Trailer:

khantry design

WGT 2010 Official Review by Electrowelt.

19th Wave - Gotik - Treffen Review, Leipzig Germany


21.05 - 24.05.2010

* Review by Malice F.



Tuesday 25.05.2010

The biggest celebration worldwide for the fans of the dark music scene, one more Wave-Gotik-Treffen has come to an end and we left Leipzig feeling a little depressed for the Hauptbahnhof (the central train, bus, tram station) heading to Munich, before our final destination, Athens.


Wiped out after 5 intense festival days, but at the same time so revived, we started discussing all our newly acquired experiences after watching 20 live concerts with strenuous efforts going from one venue to the other, at different places in the city of Leipzig, many parties, our friends and acquaintances from all over the world that we met again during the festival.
This year too, despite of the negative and pessimistic mood due to economic crisis that has taken over, more than 20.000 dedicated fans worldwide – 20.500 to be precise according to LVZ newspaper of Leipzig – attended this year’s 19th WGT. The festival’s report and things to mention just absolutely fantastic! About 200 music bands and artists from a wide music spectrum dark, from neofolk, industrial, ebm to postpunk, electro, dark wave, in more than 40 and foremost impressive concert venues, theatrical performances, lectures, ballet, opera, medieval markets. Leipzig and its citizens gave a big and warm welcome for once more to all us black dressed and weird creatures!


Great weather in Germany for Whitsun time or Pfingsten in German; therefore we could walk all over the city and enjoy the festival much easier than in previous years. Free use of all public transportation for all WGT visitors really helps too, as long as they present their WGT bracelet or band in German, which also applies for all WGT concerts, performances and all other WGT scheduled shows. So convenient, instead of buying tickets all day long, so that you can attend concerts!
So, now we start with all we could attend during the 4 festival days of Wave- Gotik- Treffen!


Friday 21.05.2010

Due to a big strike in Greece on Thursday, we arrived in Leipzig on Friday noon; we went right away to get our festival bracelets and relative info and afterwards Moritzbastei. The majority of fans were already in town, everyone’s mood was cheerful and the smells from all the sausages and other well known German dishes were so intense! Great festival atmosphere indeed! We arrived at Ratstonne of Moritzbastei, where George Papanikolaou aka George P. (resident dj of Sin City club & admin of the Electrowelt.com webzine, so you can easily understand that we have to say all nice things, otherwise we will get fired…!) began his dj set for the 4th time during the official schedule of the 19th WGT festival.  In batcave, postpunk, minimal, dark & new wave tunes this time, stirred up the crowd, and as result Ratstonne could not close up on time, because the club’s manager was coming up every half an hour or so to ask George to play one last track, before closing its’ doors at 8 o’ clock in the morning from 8 o’ clock in the afternoon!

At the live stage of Moritzbastei, NOYCE tm performed live in front of a big audience and their fans were very enthusiastic and enjoyed their performance, something which I admit made a big impression on me. I had time to listen to 3-4 tracks from their new album, their stage performance was good and they were in constant contact with their fans.  I took off as fast as I could in order to make it on time for the press office at Agra grounds, the main and bigger festival venue, which is a huge exhibition centre at the south part of the city.


With everything under control at the last minute, I quickly went to Agra main stage to take place at the photo pit for the live concert of KIRLIAN CAMERA from Italy. Their entrance on stage was highly impressive, with all four band members wearing masks, as well as the performance of Mrs Elena Alice Fossi, but this time we all noticed the much more intense and cheerful presence of Kirlian Camera mastermind Angelo Bergamini, who was very expressive during their live set. It’s worth mentioning that, besides the great songs “Blue Room”, “Eclipse”, “Edges” that we listened in new remixes which are included in their new album “Odyssey Europa”, the band also presented a cover of “Hymn” from Ultravox in epic rhythm and in form of recitation. The audience appreciated highly this particular choice of cover, it’s a fact that the musical influence of 80s is still nowadays a big music chapter and our love to the songs of the 80s is still very strong!

After some rest, a few beers with friends  and a walk at the huge gothic market at Agra Hall, we took places for the performance of the Irish BRENDAN PERRY,  one half of the legendary  Dead Can Dance,  which was scheduled as the special after midnight concert on Friday at 1:00. Unsophisticated, but at the same time impressive presence, he mesmerized us with his characteristic voice and despite all day’s tiredness and the late hour, all stayed focused and put until the end of the concert.  The sound was very good throughout the concert, which lasted for 90 minutes and we listened to tracks from Brendan Perry’s new album, such as the exquisite ¨Utopia¨, ¨Tree of Life¨, then followed ¨This Boy¨ and ¨You Never Loved This City¨. After about 75 minutes, the main set came to its end with ¨Spirit¨ and after they left the stage for a while, they came back for the encore and they closed the night with the unique ¨Severance¨. In conclusion, Brendan Perry was exceptional and his solo work is as good as with his great work with Dead Can Dance, tracks of whom he performs at 'solo' appearances.


Saturday 22.05.2010

We started our day early, we wanted to have some time to explore the huge market at the Agra Hall and especially to take a look and buy rare and not so rare cds in extremely low prices, before checking out the loved ones of Old School EBM, the Germans ORANGE SECTOR at the main stage of AGRA. Martin Bodewell and Lars Felker, the last one wore a T shirt of “Militant Cheerleaders on the Move”, their fans were also present, they blew us away with new songs from their album “Krieg & Frieden”, as well as with their older hits, such as “Kalt wie Stahl”, “Tanzbefehl”, “Dynamit”, “R.I.P”.

After Orange Sector, followed Erk Aicrag of the “Hocico” band with his RABIA SORDA project left us with no excuses to get bored! Powerful, he gave us his full energy as usual. For us who tried to photograph his live performance, I must say that it was pretty hard to “capture” Erk in just one pose on stage! One of the highlights was their hit song “Save me from my curse” at the beginning, many fans thought so too, unfortunately we didn’t’ stay for long, we had to harry for the neofolk bands at the wonderful Volkspalast, where we enjoyed PHALLUS DEI for just a few songs on the stage of Kuppelhalle.

Although they chose their slower, but much atmospheric tracks, they mesmerized us, we also checked out the enchanting SONNE HAGAL at the packed Kantine in Volkspalast, with Kim from “Of the Wand and the Moon” at the drums.

Back at Agra for X MARKS THE PEDWALK, a live and band reunion, which I was more than eager to see, but my impressions weren’t the finest. Perhaps, my expectations were high; I had never seen them live before. Visuals were presented along with the songs on the big video wall, which we really didn’t like, the audience seemed to really not know many of their songs, they honestly tried, but they didn’t achieve to make their appearance memorable. Highlights were “Facer” and of course “Abbatoir” for the older old school EBM fans.
At the same time, Rotersand were performing live welcoming Ronan Harris of VNV NATION at a guest appearance on stage with them. Ronan revealed to us that he was going to perform live with them, when we accidentally met him at Nikolaistraβe (incidents which  του WGT!).

Furthermore, Chameleonsvox, Pink Turns Blue, 6COMM, Sol Invictus were on stage, but we chose to go to Felsenkeller for SEX GANG CHILDREN. And I am really glad we did so! Andy Sex Gang is motive enough to travel and enjoy them live in another country, their performance was exquisite and we could rank Andy’s and the band’s performance with legendary bands, such as Current 93. We were thrilled that we listened to “Dieche” and “Barbarossa” from their older hits, and at the end he appeared again for the concert’s encore with “Sebastiane” and said good night to us humble and kind.


Sunday 23.05.2010

I know that it won’t sound so nice, but we were relieved to hear the announcement that DIAMANDA GALAS cancelled due to health issues after all her performance at the big hall of Westwerk. We are certain that we wouldn’t be able to see her perform, as well as not attend the established fetish party of WGT, the Obsession Bizarre. Our day began with the Lovecrane and their powerful guitars. We took places right away for FAITH AND THE MUSE, who appeared with a full band on stage and medieval costumes. They also had two dancers who also sang back vocals to Monica Richards, two very interesting musicians with Mohican hair playing cello and violin, and William Faith with impressive blonde mohican hair! The audience at Agra loved them; to be honest I didn’t expect an appearance like that, maybe because in the past I had seen them live and their appearance was pretty much boring unfortunately. They were very theatrical and focused in a more orchestrical way on their performance. Fortunately, I listened to my favorite track by them, “Cantus”.


I didn’t want to see Diary of Dreams for one more time, so change of scenery for the next concert and we rush for the open air stage of Parkbuehne for SUICIDE COMMANDO. With Johan Van Roy at his best mood, climbing up and down from stage to the photo pit, hanging his fans, he was at the packed Parkbuehne, where you couldn’t possibly move, if you were 5’ minutes late getting there, it was too crowded. Along with Johan played Torben of Lights of Euphoria, who seemed to really enjoying the whole atmosphere. Highlights were “Mein Herz Dein Gier”, “Bind, Torture and Kill”,” God is in the Rain”,” Die Motherfucker Die”. It was confirmed for one more time that Suicide Commando and Wave-Gotik-Treffen have an erotic relationship. We just hope next time at a venue with bigger capacity!

We returned to Agra for Tilo Wolff and Anne Nurmi, LACRIMOSA. This particular performance of Lacrimosa had anniversary character, they celebrated 20 years in the music scene, therefore they moved and covered a wide range of their previous work; unfortunately for us, we didn’t  listened to the excellent from the old times “Seele in Not”. Their sound was great and we witnessed one of the best and soulful performances by Tilo Wolff; highlights of the night the songs “Alleine zu zweit”, “Alles Luge”,” Lichtgestalt”, “Stolzes Herz”, “Der Morgen danach” and their big moment with “Requiem”.

There was a big delay in program with Diary of Dreams, so Lacrimosa started playing later than scheduled, therefore the scheduled next gig, which was the midnight special of WGT for Sunday, started half an hour later. Around 2 o’ clock in the morning, and after a fantastic scenery was set up on stage with mannequins painted red on different parts, big spider webs and skulls attached on piles, begun the moderator of dark, metal, goth live gigs at WGT, Oliver Klein, with his introduction and presentation of the long anticipated Batcave gods, ALIEN SEX FIEND. As he informed us, Fiend can be pronounced Fiiiiiend as well as Feeeeind (Faint in German ! ) both are correct! The waiting came to an end and their guitarist appeared first in clouds of smoke on stage and right after came Mrs Fiend, who went up on a podium behind her synth. We can hear the first sounds of “In And Out Of My Mind” and very slowly, as if he came from another world came Mr. Nik Fiend on stage, wearing a long coat with a huge question mark at the back. Wearing heavy makeup, moving theatrical, smoking and drinking continuously, he was like Max Schreck in Nosferatu. We kind of understood what was happening, when we listened to the first tunes of “I walk the line”.  Mrs Fiend mixed the songs perfectly, although she had problems with the power, said to Mr Fiend at some moment, after the power was cut off for the 2nd or 3rd time that someone must be cutting the power off! During these small breaks, Nik Fiend shouted that “it isn’t a lap , Mrs Fiend is playing live! He read from their IT book and had several outbursts, one of which was playing with a huge plastic banana hitting one friend of his who came up on stage! He afterwards threw the banana at his fans in the audience! Although they have a new album called “Death Trip”, they only played one song from it and the rest of the setlist consisted of old beloved songs in fabulous remixes by Mrs Fiend. At the of “Now, I’ m feeling Zombified” Nik Fiend emptied on stage a rubbish bin, from where he took off skulls and started kicking them at the audience! Everyone at the front rows fought to get one of the skulls he threw! Finally, after 1, 5 hour and several messages from the stage managers to stop, they started with a powerful electronic version of “Hurricane Fighter Plane”, during which Nik Fiend disappeared from stage. Mrs Fiend stayed on stage alone and at the end she left saying in German “Danke schoen!”

Alien Sex Fiend live is a really overwhelming experience and reason enough to travel to another country to see them live, without doubt this live was the highlight of the 19th WGT festival.


Monday 23.05.2010

Much more relaxed and with an easier concert schedule to follow for Monday – the truth is we definitely needed it! -, we started off very excited for Moritzbastei, to see who exactly the French GENEVIEUVE PASQUIER was. Words are trivial describing her show, saying but a few in cabaret atmosphere gave us a fantastic and unique performance. We are certain that we definitely we will hear about her and her work a lot in the future. We watched her mesmerized singing and dancing in pin up style. Along with my favorite song by her, “Mon Cabaret”, she also sang new songs from her upcoming album “Handle with Care” (her 7 track EP is just wonderful!)
- I am happy that we have “introduced” her to people who didn’t know her work and now vouch to buy all her cds!


Relief again, after the new cancellation announcement concerning this time Bettina Koester of Malaria!

Our next destination was the beautiful and green Parkbuehne. We had time to listen to 2-3 tracks from the Americans KOMMUNITY FK. I was impressed to learn that Patrik Mata founded the band back in 1978! He is also a well known figure in LA’s death rock scene with tributes in books and relative articles. The guitar player Sherry was very sweet to come down right away from the high stage when they finished playing, because a fan asked her to autograph his cd!

One of the concert moments I personally anticipated eagerly, although friends told me that she couldn’t sing anymore and other such “compliments”, I was tremendously excited and touched at the same time, that after years and years of anticipation, I would just have the opportunity to see her live. And indeed, she was unbelievable fantastic. GITANE DEMONE appeared on stage simply dressed, what she woe didn’t really make a difference since she threw it away pretty soon! Amazing voice, a little tired, she crawled on stage, danced, sang, provoked her fans by touching her body and making gestures, the audience applauded with enthusiasm, when she simple admitted that she was «23 years in death rock, baby». When she sang “Incendiary Lover”, we all cried at her how much we adored her. Upmost delirium prevailed, when she sang Christian Death tracks …


The Belgians THE KLINIK I had seen before live, so I knew they were going to be awesome and that all the fans, who had stayed on Monday too, would be at Kohlrabizirkus for this live. Many dedicated old school EBM fans and Dirk Ivens in a leather trench coat, which after a few tracks threw away, and his head was wrapped in gauze bandages, they reminded me, the reasons why they are considered to be one of the leading acts of the ΕΒΜ scene. The visuals were awesome too, we listened to our loved tracks “Black Leather” and a smashing remix of “Sick in your mind”.


Afterwards, we headed to the wonderful Volkspalast for a performance of NURSE WITH WOUND, which I also waited to see in Athens, but it was cancelled. Steven Stapleton and his band presented us for about one and a half hour with maybe the best dark ambient/experimental/industrial set we have ever listened to. Finely tuned with each other, without anyone topping on the other, they mesmerized us without any unneeded figurations; in our opinion, it was the best concert way for the Treffen to close. We really hope they will after all visit Greece too.


Finally, we stopped by Μoritzbastei to get together with friends for all the closing parties, where we renewed our dark gathering for next year!


Fotini Gavriilidou aka Malice F

www.electrowelt.com



Greek version:

19th Wave - Gotik - Treffen Review, Leipzig Germany.

Review by Malice F.

(Text in Greek)

Τρίτη 25.05.2010

Η μεγαλύτερη παγκοσμίως γιορτή των απανταχού οπαδών της dark μουσικής σκηνής, ένα ακόμη WGΤ έχει φτάσει στο τέλος του και αναχωρούμε με βαριά καρδιά προς το Hauptbahnhof (τον κεντρικό σταθμό τρένων, τραμ & λεωφορείων) με προορισμό το αεροδρόμιο και το Μόναχο, προτού επιστρέψουμε Αθήνα.
Καταβεβλημένοι από τους έντονους ρυθμούς των περασμένων 5 φεστιβαλικών ημερών, αλλά συνάμα τόσο αναζωογονημένοι, συζητάμε τις εμπειρίες και εντυπώσεις μας από τα 20 live που με υπερπροσπάθειες από το ένα venue σε επόμενο στο άλλο άκρο της πόλης καταφέραμε να δούμε, τα δεκάδες πάρτι που έγιναν και τους φίλους και γνωστούς από όλον τον κόσμο που συναντήσαμε και πάλι κατά τη διάρκεια του φεστιβάλ.
Και αυτή τη χρονιά, παρ’ όλη την απαισιοδοξία που επικρατεί λόγω οικονομικής ύφεσης, περισσότεροι από 20.000 πιστοί οπαδοί από όλη την υφήλιο – για την ακρίβεια 20.500 σύμφωνα και με την εφημερίδα της Λειψίας LVZ - παρευρέθησαν και φέτος στο 19o  WGT. Ο απολογισμός συγκλονιστικός! Περίπου 200 συγκροτήματα και καλλιτέχνες από όλο το φάσμα της dark, neofolk, industrial, ebm, postpunk, electro μουσικής σκηνής  σε περισσότερες από 40 και μάλιστα εντυπωσιακές συναυλιακές τοποθεσίες, θεατρικές παραστάσεις, διαλέξεις, μπαλέτο, όπερα, μεσαιωνικές αγορές. Η Λειψία και οι κάτοικοί της υποδέχτηκαν ακόμη μια φορά ιδιαιτέρως ζεστά και φιλόξενα όλους εμάς τα μαυροντυμένα και παράξενα πλάσματα!


Υπέροχος καιρός στη Γερμανία για την εποχή του Whitsun ή Pfingsten κατά τους Γερμανούς, κατά συνέπεια οι μετακινήσεις πολύ πιο εύκολες, ιδιαίτερα και λόγω της δωρεάν μετακίνησης με τραμ και λεωφορεία για όλους τους επισκέπτες του φεστιβάλ, αρκεί μόνο να επιδείξουν το WGT βραχιολάκι τους, κάτι που ισχύει και για τις συναυλίες, παραστάσεις και άλλα δρώμενα στα πλαίσια του WGT.
Ξεκινάμε λοιπόν αναλυτικά με όσα προλάβαμε να παρακολουθήσουμε στις 4 ημέρες του Wave- Gotik- Treffen!

Παρασκευή 21.05.2010


Λόγω της πανελλαδικής απεργίας την Πέμπτη, φτάσαμε στη Λειψία Παρασκευή μεσημέρι και ξεκινήσαμε το απόγευμα για την παραλαβή των βραχιολιών του φεστιβάλ και το Moritzbastei. Η πλειοψηφία των επισκεπτών είχε ήδη κατακλύσει την πόλη, η διάθεση εξαιρετικά ανεβασμένη και οι μυρωδιές επίσης από τα λουκάνικα και τα έτερα γερμανικά εδέσματα έντονη! καταφθάνουμε στο Ratstonne του Moritzbastei, όπου ξεκίνησε το dj set του για 4η φορά στο επίσημο πρόγραμμα του 19ου WGT φεστιβάλ ο Γιώργος Παπανικολάου aka George P. (resident dj του Sin City & admin του Electrowelt.com, οπότε καταλαβαίνετε, αν δεν παινέψουμε το σπίτι μας όπως υπαγορεύει το γνωστό ρητό…!) Σε batcave, postpunk, minimal, dark & new wave ρυθμούς αυτή τη φορά ξεσήκωσε τον κόσμο, με συνέπεια να μην μπορεί να κλείσει στην ώρα του το Ratstonne και κάθε τρεις και λίγο να έρχεται ο υπεύθυνος να του ζητάει ακόμη ένα τελευταίο και πάλι τελευταίο κομμάτι, πριν κλείσει τις πόρτες του στις 8 το πρωί από τις 8 το απόγευμα!


Στο Live χώρο του Moritzbastei εμφανίστηκαν οι NOYCE tm με αρκετούς πιστούς να τους αποθεώνουν, κάτι που ομολογώ μου προξένησε εντύπωση. Πρόλαβα να ακούσω 3 κομμάτια από την καινούρια τους δουλειά, είχαν καλή σκηνική παρουσία και επαφή με το κοινό. Τρέχω να προλάβω στη συνέχεια ανοιχτό το γραφείο τύπου στο βασικό χώρο του φεστιβάλ, το εκθεσιακό κέντρο του Agra στη νότια πλευρά της πόλης. Οριακά όλα υπό έλεγχο, και ξεκινώ να πάρω θέση για την εμφάνιση των Ιταλών KIRLIAN CAMERA. Εντυπωσιακή η είσοδός τους, η ερμηνεία της κυρίας Elena Fossi, αλλά αυτή τη φορά αρκετά πιο έντονη η παρουσία και του Angelo Bergamini, ο οποίος ήταν αρκετά εκδηλωτικός στη διάρκεια του σετ. Αξίζει να αναφερθούμε πέρα από τα “Blue Room”, “Eclipse”, “Edges” σε νέα remixes που συμπεριλαμβάνονται και στο album “Odyssey Europa”, στη διασκευή του “Hymn” των Ultravox σε επικό ρυθμό με απαγγελία, ερμηνεία που εκτίμησε δεόντως και το κοινό, τελικά κανείς μας δεν μπορεί να απαλλαγεί από τη μεγάλη αγάπη προς τα 80s!
Λίγη ξεκούραση και μπύρες με φίλους για τη συνέχεια και μια βόλτα από την τεράστια gothic αγορά, πριν την εμφάνιση του Ιρλανδού BRENDAN PERRY,  έτερου ήμισυ των θρυλικών Dead Can Dance  που ήταν προγραμματισμένη ως η special μεταμεσονύκτια εμφάνιση της Παρασκευής για τη 1:00. Απλή, αλλά επιβλητική παρουσία, μας μάγεψε με τη χαρακτηριστική φωνή του και παρά την κούραση της ημέρας και το προχωρημένο της ώρας έμειναν όλοι καθηλωμένοι σε όλη τη διάρκεια του live. Πολύ καλός ήχος καθ’ όλη τη διάρκεια της συναυλίας, η οποία κράτησε 90 λεπτά και ακούσαμε κομμάτια από το καινούριο album του Brendan Perry, όπως το εξαιρετικό ομώνυμο ¨Utopia¨, αλλά και το νέο κομμάτι ¨Tree of Life¨, ακολούθησαν τα ¨This Boy¨ και ¨You Never Loved This City¨.  Μετά από περίπου 75’, τελείωσε το κυρίως  set με το κομμάτι ¨Spirit¨ και αφού έφυγαν για λίγο από τη σκηνή, επέστρεψαν για το encore και το κλείσιμο της βραδιάς με το μοναδικό ¨Severance¨. Συνολικά, ο Brendan Perry ήταν εξαιρετικός και οι προσωπικές του συνθέσεις αντίστοιχες του μεγάλου έργου των Dead Can Dance, κομμάτια των οποίων ερμηνεύει και στις 'solo' εμφανίσεις του.

Σάββατο 22.05.2010

Ξεκινήσαμε νωρίς να προλάβουμε να περιδιαβούμε την τεράστια αγορά στο Agra Halle και ειδικότερα να ρίξουμε μια ματιά και να αγοράσουμε σπάνια και μη cds σε εξαιρετικά χαμηλές τιμές, προτού δούμε τους αγαπητούς του Old School EBM, τους Γερμανούς ORANGE SECTOR στην κύρια σκηνή του AGRA. Εκρηκτικοί οι Martin Bodewell και Lars Felker με T shirt Militant Cheerleaders on the Move , με φανατικό κοινό μαζί τους μας ξεσήκωσαν με νέες από το album Krieg & Frieden, αλλά και παλιές επιτυχίες τους, όπως “Kalt wie Stahl”, “Tanzbefehl”, “Dynamit”, “R.I.P”.

Για τη συνέχεια, ο Erk Aicrag από Hocico με το project του RABIA SORDA δε μας άφησε περιθώρια να βαρεθούμε! Εκρηκτικός, τα έδωσε όλα ως συνήθως, για εμάς που προσπαθήσαμε να φωτογραφίσουμε το live, ήταν αρκετά δύσκολο να «αιχμαλωτίσουμε» τον Erk σε μια πόζα στη σκηνή! Ξεχώρισα στην αρχή το “Save me from my curse” μαζί μου και οι περισσότεροι, δε μείναμε δυστυχώς για πολύ, έπρεπε να βιαστούμε για τα neofolk συγκροτήματα στο υπέροχο Volkspalast, όπου απολαύσαμε για λίγα μόνο δυστυχώς κομμάτια τους PHALLUS DEI στη σκηνή Kuppelhalle, που αν και επέλεξαν τα πιο αργά, αλλά ατμοσφαιρικά κομμάτια τους, εμάς μας καθήλωσε, και τους μαγευτικούς και λυρικούς SONNE HAGAL στο κατάμεστο Kantine Volkspalast με τον Kim από τους Of the Wand and the Moon στα drums. Πίσω στο Agra για X MARKS THE PEDWALK, ένα live που περίμενα ανυπόμονα, αλλά δε με ξετρέλανε. Ίσως οι προσδοκίες μου ήταν εξαιρετικά υψηλές και δεν τους είχα ξαναδεί. H γιγαντοοθόνη ξεκίνησε να προβάλει projections που δε μας ενθουσίασαν, το κοινό να μην ξέρει σχεδόν κανένα κομμάτι τους, προσπάθησαν οι άνθρωποι, αλλά δεν κατάφεραν να μας ξεσηκώσουν. Highlights τo “Facer” και φυσικά το “Abbatoir”.
Παράλληλα, εμφανίζονταν οι Rotersand με guest εμφάνιση από Ronan Harris των VNV NATION που μας το αποκάλυψε, όταν τον συναντήσαμε τυχαία επί της Nikolaistraβe (από τα καλά του WGT!), Chameleonsvox, Pink Turns Blue, 6COMM, Sol Invictus κ.α., αλλά τρέξαμε στο Felsenkeller για SEX GANG CHILDREN. Ο Andy Sex Gang είναι τελικά λόγος να ταξιδέψεις να τους δεις και σε άλλη χώρα, ερμηνεία επιπέδου Current 93, απολαύσαμε τα “Dieche” και “Barbarossa” από τα παλιά τους και μας αποχαιρέτησε σεμνός και ευγενέστατος στο encore με το “Sebastiane”.

Κυριακή 23.05.2010

Αν και δεν ακούγεται πολύ ευγενικό, ανακουφιστήκαμε όταν ανακοινώθηκε ότι λόγω ασθένεια ακύρωσε η DIAMANDA GALAS την εμφάνισή της στη μεγάλη αίθουσα του Westwerk, αλλά δε θα τα καταφέρναμε σίγουρα να τη δούμε, όπως και να παρευρεθούμε και στο καθιερωμένο fetish πάρτι Obsession Bizarre. H μέρα ξεκίνησε με πολύ λίγο από Lovecrane με δυνατές κιθάρες και στη συνέχεια τους FAITH AND THE MUSE με πολυπληθή παρουσία στη σκηνή και μεσαιωνικές αμφιέσεις για τις 2 χορεύτριες που συνόδευαν και στα φωνητικά, αλλά και τη Monica Richards, με πολύ ενδιαφέρουσες παρουσίες στο τσέλο και το βιολί, και ο William Faith με εντυπωσιακή ξανθιά μοϊκάνα, ενθουσίασαν το κοινό στο Agra, ομολογώ δεν περίμενα κάτι τέτοιο, επειδή τους είχα ξαναδεί σε αρκετά πιο «βαρετή» εμφάνιση. Ήταν θεατρικοί και εστίασαν ορχηστρικά σε αυτή την εμφάνισή τους. Ευτυχώς, πρόλαβα και άκουσα και το αγαπημένο μου “Cantus”. Δε άντεχα να δω ακόμη μια φορά Diary of Dreams, οπότε αλλαγή σκηνικού στη συνέχεια και τρέχουμε προς τη σκηνή Parkbuehne για SUICIDE COMMANDO. O Johan Van Roy στα καλύτερά του, κατέβαινε συνεχώς στο κοινό και κρεμόταν στο photo pit με την πρώτη ευκαιρία, αποθεώθηκε από το κατάμεστο Parkbuehne, όπου αρχικά, αν είχες καθυστερήσει 5’, ήταν αδύνατο να προχωρήσεις από τον κόσμο. Στην παρέα του Johan πάντα και o Torben από Lights of Euphoria, που φαινόταν να το διασκεδάζει ιδιαίτερα. Ξεχωρίσαμε τα “Mein Herz Dein Gier”, “Bind, Torture and Kill”,” God is in the Rain”,” Die Motherfucker Die” και επιβεβαιώθηκε πανηγυρικά η αγαπησιάρικη σχέση των Suicide Commando με το Wave-Gotik-Treffen για ακόμη μια φορά. Απλά ελπίζουμε την επόμενη φορά να εμφανιστεί σε μεγαλύτερο venue ! Στη συνέχεια επιστρέψαμε στο Agra για τον Tilo Wolff και την Anne Nurmi και τους LACRIMOSA. Η συγκεκριμένη εμφάνισή τους είχε επετειακό χαρακτήρα, έκλεισαν ήδη 20 χρόνια στα μουσικά δρώμενα, οπότε ήταν συγκινημένοι και κάλυψαν ευρύ φάσμα, χωρίς δυστυχώς να ακούσουμε  το εξαιρετικό “Seele in Not”. Είχαν καταπληκτικό ήχο και είδαμε μια από τις καλύτερες και εκφραστικές ερμηνείες του Tilo Wolff, ξεχώρισαν τα “Alleine zu zweit”, “Alles Luge”,” Lichtgestalt”, “Stolzes Herz”, “Der Morgen danach” με αποκορύφωμα το “Requiem”.


Επειδή υπήρχε σημαντική καθυστέρηση στους Diary, ξεκίνησαν αργά και οι Lacrimosa, οπότε και η προγραμματισμένη επόμενη έναρξη για τη Midnight special εμφάνιση καθυστέρησε περίπου μισή ώρα. Γύρω στις 2. 00 λοιπόν, και ενώ έχει στηθεί ένα καταπληκτικό σκηνικό από κούκλες βιτρίνας βαμμένες σε διάφορα σημεία, μεγάλους ιστούς αράχνης και νεκροκεφαλές σε πασσάλους, αρχίζει ο moderator στα dark, metal, goth live Oliver Klein την εισαγωγή του για την παρουσίαση των πολυαναμενόμενων θεών του Batcave  ALIEN SEX FIEND. Όπως μας ενημέρωσε, το Fiend στο όνομά τους προφέρεται και με τους δύο τρόπους, Fiiiiiend αλλά και Feeeeind (γερμανικά Φάιντ ! ) και τα δύο είναι οκ! Η μεγάλη προσμονή έφτασε στο τέλος της και εμφανίστηκε πρώτος στη σκηνή ο κιθαρίστας τους μέσα σε σύννεφα καπνών και στη συνέχεια η κα Fiend πίσω σε ένα υπερυψωμένο πόντιουμ πίσω από το synth της. Ακούγονται οι πρώτοι ήχοι του “In And Out Of My Mind” και νωχελικά, σαν από άλλο κόσμο ξεπρόβαλε ο κ. Nik Fiend, φορώντας ένα μακρύ παλτό με ένα μεγάλο ερωτηματικό στην πλάτη. Με έντονο Make up, θεατρικός στις κινήσεις του, καπνίζοντας και πίνοντας, φάνταζε σαν τον Max Schreck στον Nosferatu. Καταλάβαμε τι γινόταν, όταν ακούστηκε το “I walk the line”.  Η κα Fiend έκανε τρομερές μίξεις, είχε πρόβλημα με το ρεύμα ή την τάση στο synth της, κάποια στιγμή αφού σταμάτησε να παίζει 2-3 φορές στην έναρξη των κομματιών, είπε στον κ. Fiend ότι κάποιος πρέπει να της κλείνει το ρεύμα! Στα μικρά διαλείμματα πριν την έναρξη των κομματιών ο Nik Fiend μας φώναζε ότι δεν είναι lap top, ότι η κα Fiend παίζει κανονικά! Διάβασε από το IT βιβλίο τους και ξέσπασε  παίζοντας με μια τεράστια πλαστική μπανάνα με ένα συνεργάτη του που φώναξε στη σκηνή, την οποία μετά πέταξε στο κοινό! Αν και έχουν νέο album “Death Trip” έπαιξαν μόνο ένα κομμάτι και το υπόλοιπο setlist αφορούσε παλιά αγαπημένα κομμάτια τους σε καταπληκτικές μίξεις από την κα Fiend. Στο τέλος του “Now, I’ m feeling Zombified” ο Nik Fiend αδειάζει επί σκηνής έναν κουβά με σκουπίδια, από όπου βγάζει και νεκροκεφαλές τις οποίες μετά κλωτσά στο κοινό! Ακολουθεί μάχη ποιος θα εξασφαλίσει μια από αυτές! Μετά από 1, 5 ώρα και οχλήσεις, για να τελειώσουν, ξεκινά μια δυνατή ηλεκτρονική version του “Hurricane Fighter Plane”, στη διάρκεια του οποίου εξαφανίζεται ο Nik Fiend, μένει μόνο η κα Fiend στη σκηνή και στο τέλος μας αποχαιρετά γερμανικά με ένα ζεστό “Danke schoen!”



Οι Alien Sex Fiend live αποτελούν πραγματικά εμπειρία και λόγο να ταξιδέψεις να τους δεις, ήταν χωρίς αμφιβολία το highlight του 19ου WGT.


Δευτέρα 23.05.2010

Αρκετά πιο χαλαροί και εμείς και  το line up, η αλήθεια είναι πώς το χρειαζόμασταν, ξεκινήσαμε ενθουσιώδεις για το Moritzbastei, για να δούμε τελικά τι ακριβώς είναι η Γαλλίδα GENEVIEUVE PASQUIER. Τα λόγια είναι περιττά, σε cabaret ατμόσφαιρα, καταπληκτική ερμηνεία να είστε σίγουροι ότι θα ακούσουμε πολλά στο μέλλον για τη συγκεκριμένη καλλιτέχνιδα και τη δουλειά της. Μαγνητισμένοι την παρακολουθήσαμε, το τραγούδι και τον pin up χορό της, ιδιαίτερη αδυναμία μου το “Mon Cabaret” το οποίο και είπε μαζί με νέα κομμάτια  από το επερχόμενο της album “Handle with Care” (καταπληκτικό και το 7 track EP της !)


- χαίρομαι ιδιαίτερα που τη «συστήσαμε» σε κόσμο που δεν τη γνώριζε και τώρα δεσμεύεται ότι θα αγοράσει όλα τα cd της! Ανακούφιση και πάλι που ακύρωσε και η Bettina Koester των Malaria!

Επόμενος προορισμός το καταπράσινο Parkbuehne. Προλάβαμε 2-3 κομμάτια από τους Αμερικάνους KOMMUNITY FK εντυπωσιάστηκα όταν έμαθα ότι δημιουργήθηκαν το 1978! Ο Patrik Mata είναι γνωστή φυσιογνωμία της death rock σκηνής του LA με αναφορές σε σχετικά βιβλία και αφιερώματα. Γλυκύτατη η κιθαρίστρια Sherry που κατέβηκε αμέσως από τη σκηνή μόλις τελείωσε το live, επειδή της ζήτησε ένας θαυμαστής της αυτόγραφο.
Μια από τις συναυλιακές στιγμές που προσωπικά περίμενα, αν και είχα ακούσει πριν τα χειρότερα του στυλ ότι δε θα μπορεί να τραγουδήσει και άλλα τέτοια, αλλά η δική μου συγκίνηση ήταν τόσο μεγάλη, που απλά θα την έβλεπα και θα την άκουγα. Και ναι, ήταν ασύλληπτα φανταστική. Η GITANE DEMONE εμφανίστηκε απλά ντυμένη, αν και το τι φορούσε δεν είχε ιδιαίτερη σημασία, αφού πολύ σύντομα το έβγαλε! Καταπληκτική φωνή, αν και λίγο ταλαιπωρημένη, σερνόταν στη σκηνή, χόρευε, τραγουδούσε, προκαλούσε ψηλαφίζοντας το σώμα της, καταχειροκροτήθηκε όταν απλά παραδέχτηκε «23 years in death rock baby». Στο “Incendiary Lover “ απλά όλοι της φωνάζαμε πόσο τη λατρεύουμε. Το υπέρτατο παραλήρημα μας κατέλαβε, όταν πέρασε σε κομμάτια των Christian Death …

Τους Βέλγους THE KLINIK τους είχα ξαναδεί, οπότε ήξερα ότι θα ήταν καταπληκτικοί και θα είχε πολύ κόσμο στο Kohlrabizirkus– όσον είχε απομείνει τη Δευτέρα. Πολύ fans του old school EBM και ο Dirk Ivens με δερμάτινη καμπαρντίνα την οποία έβγαλε στη συνέχεια και δεμένο με γάζες πρόσωπο μου θύμισαν, γιατί θεωρούνται από τα πρωτοπόρα acts της ΕΒΜ σκηνής. Ακούσαμε τα αγαπημένα μας “Black Leather” και ένα ξεσηκωτικό remix του “Sick in your mind”εμφανίστηκε απλά ντυμένη, αν και το τι φορούσε δεν είχε ιδιαίτερη σημασία, αφού πολύ σύντομα το έβγαλε! Καταπληκτική φωνή, αν και λίγο ταλαιπωρημένη, σερνόταν στη σκηνή, χόρευε, τραγουδούσε, προκαλούσε ψηλαφίζοντας το σώμα της, καταχειροκροτήθηκε όταν απλά παραδέχτηκε «23 years in death rock baby». Στο “Incendiary Lover “ απλά όλοι της φωνάζαμε πόσο τη λατρεύουμε. Το υπέρτατο παραλήρημα μας κατέλαβε, όταν πέρασε σε κομμάτια των Christian Death …



Με άνεση κατευθυνθήκαμε αμέσως μετά προς το ατμοσφαιρικό Volkspalast για μια εμφάνιση που περίμενα και στην Αθήνα, αλλά δεν έγινε, τουλάχιστον μέχρι τώρα, των NURSE WITH WOUND. O Steven Stapleton και η παρέα του για περίπου 1.30 ώρα μας παρουσίασαν ίσως το καλύτερο dark ambient/experimental/industrial set που έχουμε παρακολουθήσει. Πολύ καλά συντονισμένοι μεταξύ τους, χωρίς κάποιος να επισκιάζει τον άλλο, απλά μαγευτικοί και ο καλύτερος τρόπος να κλείσει συναυλιακά το Treffen. Ελπίζουμε τελικά να έρθουν και Ελλάδα.



Τέλος, ένα πέρασμα από το Μoritzbastei με φίλους για τα closing parties, όπου ανανεώσαμε το ραντεβού μας για του χρόνου!


(Click the Image bellow to ENTER Photo Gallery).                                                                                                                                                                     

   Κάντε κλίκ στην εικόνα για να δείτε το Gallery.

Upcoming Concerts Greece:

CD Review Gallery (Hit Images to enter our Reviews)

Our latest Tweets

khantry design

Our Partners:

 

 

Electrowelt Soundtrack & Remixes

There seems to be an error with the player !

ew.com Visitors

Total1801725