Latest Partner News

WAVE – GOTIK – TREFFEN 2017 Festival Preview

News image

WAVE – GOTIK – TREFFEN 2017 Festival Preview – by Fotini G. aka Malice F. WAVE – GOTIK – TREFFEN 2017: dark-romantic celebrations every year at Whitsun in Leipzig - Germany Festival Preview - by Malice F. The biggest worldwide music -and not only- gothic festival is back for the 26th consecutive year. There is not a single fan of the new & dark Wave/ EBM/ Industrial/ Neofolk /Gothic/ Post Punk scene that hasn’t heard of and furthermore hasn’t dreamt...

Latest Partner Label News

WGT Festival 2017 : Aktuell haben 83 Künstler ihren Auftritt zugesagt.

News image

WGT Festival 2017 : Aktuell haben 83 Künstler ihren Auftritt zugesagt. 13th Monkey (D) - Aeon Sable (D) - Ah Cama-Sotz (B) - Ah! Kosmos (TR) - Amanda Palmer (Dresden Dolls) & Edward Ka-Spel (Legendary Pink Dots) (USA/NL) - Andi Sexgang (GB) Akustikkonzert - Andyra (D) - Angels & Agony (NL) - Annwn (D) - Autodafeh (S) - Azar Swan (USA) - B-Movie (GB) - Besides (PL) - BFG (GB) - Black Nail Cabaret (H) - Bloody, Dead & Sexy...

Latest Partner Label News

Our latest NEWS updates

XIII. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2017

News image

XIII. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2017 22. & 23.07.2017 – COLOGNE | TANZBRUNNEN EISBRECHER, APOPTYGMA BERZERK, COMBICHRIST KIRLIAN CAMERA, DAS ICH & MANY MORE AT AMPHI 2017 Dear Amphi Fans,  Autumn is here and it’s getting cold. Time to get stovestoking, throwing some hot coals into the flame which ignites the Amphi Festival 2017. Therefore today’s programme update comes along heavily packed. Not only with full throttle rock and chunky electrobeats but also with a few surprises to discover. Let’s lift the...

Latest

VII. E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL 2017

News image

VII. E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL 2017 COVENANT, AGONOIZE UND [X]-RX BESTÄTIGT Am 18. März 2017 wird Oberhausen erneut zur Hauptstadt der düsteren Electrobeats. „BÄSSER-HÄRTER-LAUTER“ in der Turbinenhalle mit den Hochkarätern aus EBM, ELECTROPOP, SYNTHPOP und INDUSTRIAL. Zu den 11 bestätigten Bands gesellen sich nun drei weitere Kracher, die es in sich haben: COVENANTAGONOIZE[X]-RX Mit ihrem im November erscheinenden Album „The Blinding Dark“ läuten COVENANT drei Jahre nach „Leaving Babylon“ das nächste Kapitel ein. Dabei lassen es sich die Gentleman-Klangpioniere um den charismatischen...

Latest

Promotional Trailer:

khantry design

Review Wave Gotik Festival 2011 - English & Greek Version

WAVE – GOTIK – TREFFEN * REVIEW : 09 - 13/06/2011


By Malice F.

We were counting the days for the 20thanniversary of Wave-Gotik- Treffen in Leipzig and the festivities were indeed great: more than 30 venues all over the city, about 20.000 visitors from all over the world, 278 groups performed live for our entertainment. The weather was fortunately fantastic, only on Monday it rained a little, but it was easy to change venues and attend as many events as possible.


Thursday 09/06/2011

Because of the anniversary spirit, this year’s festival opened its doors on Thursday 09.06 with bands that appeared in 1992 for the first Treffen and thousands of visitors were already able to get time off and travel for the festival! We took many pics of concerts, fans and events and we have also interviewed special artists for you! We will gradually announce everything here, on electrowelt.com.

Our night began with Oswald Henke who performed with his band mainly tracks from Goethes Erben and the Germans supported him greatly, the Agra venue was packed.  We were in time just for 4-5 songs; we personally enjoyed the last track, a Nick Cave song, “Mercy Seat” or “Sitz der Gnade” in German. The Germans Age Of Heaven followed next, they were pretty emotional for performing at the WGT-they were after all one of the first bands to perform in 1992- and in big smoke clouds and impressive lights reminded us how much we have aged! We listened to new tracks of the band, as well as the classics “Red Roses” & “Garden of Love” in exceptional performances. Short after 23:00, the two members of the band Eternal Afflict appeared on stage with video wall projections, the Germans Mark and Cyan had much fun with the warm audience reactions. We listened to “Babylon”, “Godless” and the band left us with good impressions singing their biggest hit,  “San Diego”.  Everyone at the Agra was more and more excited, as the time to see the legendary gothic rock band Love Like Blood approached.  This was a most expected performance, as they had not appeared live in 12 years! The front man, Yorck Eysel, emphasized how happy he was that they all managed to perform live after all these years with the original line up and on stage again for the WGT festival. It was very important for them to say goodbye to their devoted fans this way. They were very professional on stage and as they performed, musically very harmonically bonded, definitely one of the best performances of the 20th WGT. We listened to “Dear Catherine”, “Doomsday” among others, as well as the recent track “Promise me”; pleasant surprise the gothic girl at the keyboards and vocals in the background. Long before the LLB farewell concert was over, many fans left the Agra for the warm up parties that had already started , with the biggest one being that of Moritzbastei, where many artists and festival performers would be there, like Kolja Trelle - Soman, Daniel Mayer –Haujobb, Destroid, Torben Wendt - Diorama.


Friday  10/06/2011

Our day began with the Victorian picnic at the wonderful and all green Parkbuehne, where many fans of this particular style, even families with their children, prepared themselves carrying all the essentials and gathered around in the appropriate dress code and they kept this year’s WGT tradition too. Concert wise, we decided not to take our chances by changing venues and stay at the Volkpalast or Pantheon as it was called this year, where Clock DVA would appear. Unfortunately, as much as we wanted, we couldn’t enjoy Diamanda Galas live at the Leipzig Oper, but venue distances didn’t help at all, we couldn’t even think about attempting something like that! For the beginning, we saw a classic German old school EBM band named Prager Handgriff at Werk II, they were ok, and there was also a lot of kicking and pushing among the fans at the front of the sage. We later on rushed to Volkspalast, initially stayed at the Kuppelhalle stage, where we saw the experimental side project of Clock DVA, TAGC – The Anti Group. They appeared inside a cube of video walls which was transparent enough to barely see them, without nevertheless be able to  have clear visual or other contact with the band members . Exquisite sound, impressive projections, the atmosphere prepared us for the upcoming Clock DVA show. We continued at the Kantine stage, where we saw the new collaboration project of Eraldo Bernocchi, Tony Wakeford and Lorenzo Esposito Fornasari, named OWLS. We certainly know and admire the lyrical Tony Wakeford, I wasn’t aware of this particular new project, but I was definitely impressed by their performance, stage communication code and songs. Time was approaching 21:30 and we run to take places at the Kantine stage. With a delay of 15 approximately minutes, appeared live for the first time since 1994 Adolphus "Adi" Newton and Steven "Judd’’ Turner aka Clock DVA. They were simply sensational, with fantastic projections, perhaps the best sound I have ever heard in similar gigs; they also appeared in the same video wall cube, without having direct contact with the audience, wanting to primarily emphasize the visual and audio part of their performance. It was scheduled to play live for almost one hour and a half, but after constant fan cheering, they played for another whole hour, with 2 encores. We listened twice to the tracks “Soundmirror”, “The Hacker”, as well as to “Fractal 9”, “Signal”, with the following Antonin Artaud saying that was repeated on the projections: “When I am trying to discover myself, my thoughts seek one another in the regions of the new space. I am up in the moon, dreaming, while others sit at home. I partake in planetary gravitation within the fissures of my mind.”


Saturday  11/06/2011 :

We had decided to spend most of our concert time at the Agra venue, so we started our day with Destroid, the synthpop project of Mr Daniel Meyer. Many people gathered at an early time to catch them live. It was a good but not excellent appearance. We went for a walk to the super Agra Markt and the all green exterior of the Agra venue to come back in time to see the Swedish guys, Agrezzior. Very good quality ΕΒΜ music, with the basics for old school, the audience had a great time and to our surprise knew most of their songs. Κορυφαία στιγμή τους τα “Fingerprints”& “Left alone”. The next band we had seen several times live, we even had Sami & Azrael at the 7 Sins club performing live here in Athens. Power club tunes, not of my personal taste, but without doubt their hits are definitely on the set list of every club dj who respects himself, at every big or small club of our scene. I honestly didn’t expect what I saw!  FH have evolved to one of the hit names in the scene and the huge Agra venue was packed from an early hour just for the Faderhead performance. Four guys on stage, bombastic beats, full energy from all band members. We listened to “Dirty Grrls Dirty Bois”, “TZDV”, and also to the new super hit “This is the way to fuck god”. Noone moved and Agra remained of course full, as the Feindflug live performance was about to start. After the necessary changes and the stage reformation to a kind of battlefield, the band members started to gradually making their appearance on stage. A lot of cheering and fainting in the audience followed.   Discrete as always the band’s mastermind, Banane and Felix on stage, with uniforms and masks, very impressive, with video wall projections from the 2nd World War played their most known songs like, “AK 47”,” Ersatzteil”, “Roter Schnee”, “Truppenschau”, “Stukas im Visier” where they literally gave all they got and honestly speaking you couldn’t possible breathe in the Agra, being so crowded , therefore we left for a while to regain our strength for the next gig.  After a delay of 5-10 minutes, in big smoke clouds and intense red lights appeared on stage FRONT 242. I can’t really be 100% objective when I speak about this particular band, they are truly speaking pioneers without staying behind for a minute, compared to other bands, in what we call EBM music. I have personally seen them live 6 times as Front and one as 32 Crash- each time they confirm their reputation and power on stage. It was a little sad that many fans had left the venue, maybe because of the bad atmosphere –it was impossible to breathe and stand earlier. Amazing sound, they moved constantly up and down the stage keeping always their special contact with the fans, with outstanding projections, we listened to “Body to Body”, “Headhunter”, “Kampfbereit”, “Moldavia”, “Lovely day”, but unfortunately missed “Tragedy for you” & “ U Men”, because we had to leave for Werk II and The Damned. This venue was packed too, after a small delay appeared 3 out of four members, with Captain Sensible making several jokes with the crowd, talking to people in very good mood. After a short introduction, Dave Vanian stepped up on stage wearing black pvc gloves and white medical –I think- uniform. In a very good mood himself too we listened to “Smash it up”, “We’ve got a situation here”, “New Rose”. Experience and talent at its great moments.


Sunday  12/06/2011 :

Big day for us, as we had scheduled to interview NITZER EBB exclusively (the interview will be announced in the next few days here at www.electrowelt.com ). First concert at the fantastic, impressive venue called Schaubuehne Lindenfels with the amazing C.3.3., project of the founder of Test Dept, Paul Jamrozy.  Exquisite experimental, old school industrial sounds, he was accompanied on stage by a lady who frequently used during their performance a gramophone.  A lot of Oscar Wilde projections –a fact that was not random as we learned right after- and they shared with us afterwards some fascinating trivia: they performed the “Ballad of Reading Gaol – Cacophonietta”, a poem for Oscar Wilde’s imprisonment and execution of his fellow inmate, C.T.W. The project’s name, C.3.3. , refers to the Oscar Wilde’s prison cell number. Without doubt, one of the happy moments of this year’s WGT.

Next gig the most expected -by me- band Sophia. In collaboration with Karjalan sissit, their martial industrial sound was fantastic, but on the other hand it would be much more preferable if the three of them would be drinking fewer beers and played live a little more.  Two members were hitting big barrels with one hand – they were holding their beer with the other!-  they didn’t quite convince me, I expected more for the years they are in the scene and for the music genre they represent. We subsequently went to the all green venue of Parkbuehne for Pouppee Fabrikk.  Luckily for us, there was a 5-10 minutes delay and we took our places in time. All old school EBM fans were there and in the mood for a lot of banging, pushing and dancing! Though P.F. is a classic and favorite band for old school EBM fans, the Swedish guys don’t play live very often. Very good powerful performance with a lot of energy, the very tall, huge front man set the audience  on fire–I definitely wouldn’t like to get in a fight with him!-  we listened to “Watch your sex”, “Elite Electronics”, “Symptom”.

We then left for the Agra stage to see Fields of the Nephilim. Mr Carl Mc Coy and his band mates are definitely a guarantee for a fantastic live, after having seen them live 7 times, I still can’ t find a tiny mistake in their performance, each time I see them live on stage. Mc Coy was in great mood, moving a lot on stage, an amazing performance and perhaps the biggest number of fellow photographers at the photo pit than any other live concert at the Agra! Special concert moments were the songs “Straight to light”, “Love under will”, “Moonchild”, they left the stage for about 5 minutes, only to come back for their only encore with the unique “Last Exit for the Lost”; one of the best gigs of the 20ου WGT. We stayed at the same venue for the special midnight appearance of Mr Alan Wilder for Recoil. Just before 1 o clock, the other band member appeared first on stage and after an introduction he joined him. They both stayed on the right side of the big stage with only the video projections in the middle. Mainstream sounds that you could listen to a usual club, tracks that were similar, we honestly were not able to stay till the end – so unfortunately we didn’t see the appearance of Douglas Mc Carthy [Nitzer Ebb] for “Stalker” & “Faith healer”. A disappointing for us live performance of the ex member of the legendary Depeche Mode.


Monday 13/06/2011 :

Our day began with one more interview with Blind Passenger and Nik Page and we continued at the venue of Alte Messe – Halle 15, where we stayed for all the gigs. We first saw Absurd Minds, they were very good, and many fans since an early hour at the Halle 15 were having fun, as we did. Best moments were the “Herzlos”, “Deception”, “I am dying alone”, “Brainwash”, as well as the cover of Johnny Cash’s track, “Hurts”. Next band was Plastic Noise Experience, a live that most of us anxiously expected, as we were big funs.  Two members on stage and two video walls, we barely recognized Claus Kruse, with longer hair and beard- . After the usual short introduction, the front man came up on stage. A very good performance and their familiar dark electronic sound, unfortunately we didn’t listen to the tracks “Energie”, “Plastik Fantastik” and my own favorite track, “Deranged”; a very good moment was “Tateinheit”. PNE and ΕΒΜ music at their best phase. At about 20:45 appeared alone on stage with only one microphone, without projections or anything else destructing us, Mr. Dirk Ivens as DIVE. Apart from a musical genius, he is also an amazing performer. Kick ass live, without unnecessary destructions, he gave everything to the audience! Great moments were the “There is no hope”, “Blood Money”, “This is me” and after he unbuttoned his shirt “Wake up screaming” & “Pain and Pleasure”. Just before 22:00, and after the stage was ready with many tv sets and a goat head mannequin doll at the microphone, began the introduction and at the keyboards was not Rasco, the other half of HOCICO. We had met with Erk and he had told us that there was a problem with Rasco’s flight from Mexico and that he hoped he wouldn’t have to go through the show all by himself. Right after he started, he apologized for Rasco’s absence and introduced us to his replacement on stage. Full of energy and moving up and down the stage as always, he started off with “Breathe me tonight”, “Flesh to lacerate” and “Fatal Desire”. Then followed “Dog Eat Dog”, “Bite me” and you couldn’t possible find space inside the venue, as each single fan was dancing along with Erk; there was panic with “Forgotten Tears” and finally “Poltergeist”. We had just managed to catch our breath before the final appearance of the night’s headliner of 20th WGT, NITZER EBB. After the drums, keyboards and NEP banners were up ready, first came Jason Payne up on stage at the drums and right after Bon Harris, as the crowd kept cheering them. After a 5 minute introduction, the simply magnificent Douglas Mc Carthy made his appearance wearing a suit, white shirt and tie, standing up to the occasion. Top concert performance and for us the best for the 20th WGT, tremendous energy and bombastic beats, all three participated giving their best to the show we witnessed. I really can’t think of a better way for this year’s anniversary WGT to finish. I can’ t possibly distinguish one of the tracks, “Getting Closer”, “Let your Body Learn”, “Once you Say”, “Payroll”, “Lightning Man” or “Control I’ m here”. Thanking their fans in very warm way, appeared again on stage for the encore which they closed with the exquisite “Join in the Chant”.

Super fantastic closure for this year’s WGT was for us the apocalyptic folk, neofolk, dark wave party at the Volkspalast or Pantheon venue for this year.

Congratulations to the festival organizers for one more great and safe festival and of course for the great festival variety with rare appearances this year too.

See you next year again for the 21st WGT in Leipzig!


 

Wave - Gotik - Treffen * Review 09 - 13/6/2011 * Version in Greek :

 

By Malice F.


Περιμέναμε με ανυπομονησία το επετειακό 20ο Wave-Gotik- Treffen στη Λειψία και όντως ο απολογισμός είναι εντυπωσιακός: περισσότερα από 30 venues σε ολόκληρη την πόλη την οποία κατέκλυσαν περισσότεροι από 20. 000 επισκέπτες και αυτόν το χρόνο, 278 συγκροτήματα εμφανίστηκαν live για τη διασκέδασή μας. Ο καιρός ευτυχώς  ήταν εξαιρετικός σύμμαχος, μόνο τη Δευτέρα μας τα χάλασε για πολύ λίγο, αλλά ευνοούσε τη μετακίνησή μας.


Πέμπτη 09/06/2011

Λόγω του επετειακού χαρακτήρα, το φετινό φεστιβάλ άνοιξε τις πόρτες του από την Πέμπτη 09 Ιουνίου με συγκροτήματα που εμφανίστηκαν το 1992 για πρώτη φορά στο Treffen και ήδη υπήρχε μεγάλος αριθμός επισκεπτών που μπόρεσαν έγκαιρα να εξασφαλίσουν άδεια και να ταξιδέψουν! Εμείς εξασφαλίσαμε πλούσιο φωτογραφικό υλικό από τα συναυλιακά δρώμενα, καθώς και special συνεντεύξεις που σταδιακά θα ανακοινώνουμε εδώ στο electrowelt.com.

Η βραδιά μας ξεκίνησε με τον Oswald Henke που ερμήνευσε με την μπάντα του κυρίως κομμάτια από Goethes Erben και οι γερμανοί τον τίμησαν δεόντως, ο χώρος του Agra ήταν κατάμεστος. Αν και προλάβαμε μόνο λίγα κομμάτια, ευχάριστη το τέλος με τραγούδι του Nick Cave, Mercy Seat ή γερμανιστεί “Sitz der Gnade”. Ακολούθησαν οι Γερμανοί Age Of Heaven, ιδιαίτερα συγκινημένοι για την εμφάνισή τους και μέσα σε πολύ καπνό και  ατμοσφαιρικά φώτα μας θύμισαν πόσο έχουμε μεγαλώσει! Ακούσαμε μεταξύ άλλων καινούρια κομμάτια του, αλλά και τα κλασικά “Red Roses” &  “Garden of Love” σε εξαιρετικές ερμηνείες. Λίγο μετά τις 23:00, εμφανίστηκαν στη σκηνή τα 2 μέλη του γκρουπ  Eternal Afflict με projections στο video wall, οι Γερμανοί Mark και Cyan το καταδιασκέδασαν με τις θερμές αντιδράσεις του κόσμου, ακούσαμε τα “Babylon”, “Godless” και μας άφησαν καλή εντύπωση φεύγοντας με το hit τους “San Diego”.  Ο ενθουσιασμός όλων μας κορυφωνόταν, καθώς πλησίαζε η ώρα για τη θρυλική gothic rock μπάντα Love Like Blood, μια εμφάνιση πολυαναμενόμενη, καθώς είχαν να εμφανιστούν Live 12 χρόνια! Ο front man, Yorck Eysel, τόνισε πόσο χαρούμενος είναι που κατάφεραν να εμφανιστούν μετά από τόσα χρόνια και πάλι στη σκηνή του WGT και μάλιστα με την αρχική και βασική τους σύνθεση και πόσο σημαντικό ήταν για εκείνους να μας αποχαιρετίσουν με αυτόν τον τρόπο. Απίστευτα επαγγελματίες, μουσικά πολύ δεμένοι, ήταν γενικά από τις καλύτερες ερμηνείες στο WGT . Ακούσαμε μεταξύ άλλων τα “Dear Catherine”, “Doomsday”, το πιο πρόσφατο “Promise me” ευχάριστη έκπληξη η κοπέλα στα πλήκτρα και φωνητικά στο background. Αρκετή ώρα πριν το τέλος, αποχώρησαν πολλοί θεατές με προορισμό τα πάρτι που είχαν ήδη ξεκινήσει, με μεγαλύτερο αυτό του Moritzbastei, όπου θα παρευρίσκονταν και αρκετοί καλλιτέχνες, όπως οι Kolja Trelle - Soman, Daniel Mayer –Haujobb, Destroid, Torben Wendt (Diorama).


Friday 10/06/2011

Η μέρα ξεκίνησε με το βικτοριανό πικνίκ στο καταπράσινο Parkbuehne, όπου πολλοί οπαδοί του στυλ, ακόμη και οικογένειες με τα παιδάκια τους προετοιμάστηκαν με όλα τα απαραίτητα και με το αντίστοιχο dress code και τήρησαν κ φέτος την πολύ όμορφη αυτή παράδοση.  Συναυλιακά, αποφασίσαμε να μη ρισκάρουμε με την εναλλαγή σκηνών και να παραμείνουμε στο Volkpalast ή Pantheon για φέτος, όπου θα εμφανίζονταν οι Clock DVA. Δυστυχώς, δεν μπορέσαμε να δούμε Diamanda Galas στην Όπερα, αλλά οι αποστάσεις των venueς δεν ευνόησαν ούτε καν τη σκέψη για τέτοιο εγχείρημα! Αρχικά είδαμε τη Γερμανική κλασική old school EBM μπάντα Prager Handgriff στο Werk II σε μια μέτρια εμφάνιση και πολύ ξύλο μπροστά από τη σκηνή. Κατασκηνώσαμε στη συνέχεια στο Volkspalast, αρχικά στη σκηνή του Kuppelhalle, όπου είδαμε το πειραματικό side project  των Clock DVA, TAGC – The Anti Group που εμφανίστηκε σε ένα διαφανή κύβο από βίντεο wall, χωρίς να έχουμε σαφή οπτική επαφή με τα μέλη του συγκροτήματος . Πολύ καλός ήχος, εντυπωσιακά projections, μας προετοίμασαν για την εμφάνιση των Clock DVA. Συνεχίσαμε στη σκηνή Kantine, όπου είδαμε το νέο project συνεργασίας των Eraldo Bernocchi, Tony Wakeford και Lorenzo Esposito Fornasari, ονόματι OWLS. Λυρικός ο Tony Wakeford, δε γνώριζα τη νέα αυτή συνεργασία, αλλά σίγουρα εντυπωσιάστηκα με την ερμηνεία και το αρμονικό δέσιμο μεταξύ τους. Η ώρα πλησίαζε 21:30 και τρέξαμε γρήγορα να πάρουμε θέση και πάλι στο Kantine. Με καθυστέρηση 15 λεπτών περίπου, εμφανίστηκαν live για πρώτη φορά μετά το 1994, οι Adolphus "Adi" Newton and Steven "Judd’’ Turner, Clock DVA. Ήταν απλά συγκλονιστικοί, με εκπληκτικά projections, ίσως τον καλύτερο ήχο που έχω ακούσει σε τέτοιου είδους Live, εμφανίστηκαν στον ίδιο κύβο, χωρίς να έχουν άμεση επαφή με το κοινό, θέλοντας να δώσουν μεγαλύτερη έμφαση στο visual και audio κομμάτι της ερμηνείας  τους. Ήταν προγραμματισμένο να παίξουν σχεδόν 1.30 ώρα, αλλά μετά από συνεχείς επευφημίες των οπαδών, έπαιξαν άλλη μια ώρα, με 2 encore. Ακούσαμε από 2 φορές το “Soundmirror”, “The Hacker”,  καθώς και τα “Fractal 9”, “Signal” με το εξής ρητό του Antonin Artaud να επαναλαμβάνεται στα projections: “When I am trying to discover myself, my thoughts seek one another in the regions of  the new space. I am up in the moon, dreaming, while others sit at home. I partake in planetary gravitation within the fissures of my mind.”

 


Σάββατο  11/06/2011

Είχαμε προγραμματίσει να περάσουμε το μεγαλύτερο μέρος στο Agra και έτσι έγινε, ξεκινώντας με τους Destroid, το πιο synthpop σχήμα του κου Daniel Meyer. Αρκετός ο κόσμος που του περίμενε από νωρίς, μέτρια εμφάνιση και περιμέναμε μετά από μικρές βολτίτσες στην αγορά και τον εξωτερικό χώρο του φεστιβάλ τους σουηδούς Agrezzior. Πολύ καλό ΕΒΜ, με στοιχεία old school, ξεσήκωσαν το κοινό που προς έκπληξη μας γνώριζε πολλά από τα κομμάτια τους. Κορυφαία στιγμή τους τα “Fingerprints”& “Left alone”. Το επόμενο γκρουπ το είχαμε δει πολλές φορές live, είχαμε φιλοξενήσει τους Sami & Azrael και στο 7 Sins στην Αθήνα. Δυνατή club μουσική, όχι του προσωπικού μου γούστου, αλλά αναμφισβήτητα τα hits τους παίζονται σε κάθε μεγάλο club της σκηνής. Δεν περίμενα αυτό που είδα! Έχει εξελιχτεί σε πολύ μεγάλο όνομα της σκηνής και η σκηνή του Agra ήταν ασφυκτικά γεμάτη ειδικά για την εμφάνιση των Faderhead. Συνολικά 4 άτομα στη σκηνή, καταιγιστικά beats, ενέργεια στο full από όλα τα παιδιά στη σκηνή. Ακούσαμε και έγινε πανικός τα “Dirty Grrls Dirty Bois”, “TZDV”, το νέο super hit “This is the way to fuck god”. Ο χώρος του Agra έμεινε φυσικά ασφυκτικά γεμάτος, καθώς ακολουθούσε η εμφάνιση των Feindflug. Μετά τις απαραίτητες αλλαγές και προσαρμογές που παραπέμπουν σε πεδίο μάχης και στρατόπεδο, εμφανίστηκαν σταδιακά στη σκηνή μέσα σε αλαλαγμούς και λιποθυμίες.  Διακριτική παρουσία όπως πάντα ο Banane και ο Felix επί σκηνής, με μάσκες και στολές, άκρως εντυπωσιακοί, συνοδευόμενοι με βίντεο projections από το 2ο παγκόσμιο πόλεμο εκτέλεσαν τα AK 47”,” Ersatzteil”, “Roter Schnee”, “Truppenschau”, “Stukas im Visier” όπου τα έσπασαν κυριολεκτικά και ειλικρινά δεν μπορούσες να πάρεις αναπνοή στο χώρο, από την πολυκοσμία, οπότε και αποχωρήσαμε για να ανακτήσουμε δυνάμεις για το επόμενο live.  Με καθυστέρηση 5-10 λεπτών, εμφανίστηκαν μέσα από καπνούς και έντονα κόκκινα φώτα οι FRONT 242. Δεν μπορώ ειλικρινά μιλώντας να είμαι αντικειμενική με τη συγκεκριμένη μπάντα, είναι κυριολεκτώντας δίκαια οι πρωτοπόροι, χωρίς να έχουν απαρχαιωθεί στιγμή, του είδους που αποκαλούμε EBM στη δική μας μουσική. Κάθε φορά –προσωπικά τους έχω δει 6 φορές ως Front και μια ως 32Crash-  δικαιώνουν τη φήμη και τη δύναμή τους.  Προς λύπη μας διαπιστώσαμε ότι είχαν αποχωρήσει αρκετοί, ίσως και λόγω της άσχημης ατμόσφαιρας λόγω του πολύ κόσμου νωρίτερα. Καταπληκτικός ήχος, αεικίνητοι ως συνήθως και σε επαφή με τον κόσμο, με εκπληκτικά projections ακούσαμε Body to Body”, “Headhunter”, “Kampfbereit”, “Moldavia”, “Lovely day”και δυστυχώς χάσαμε τα Tragedy for you” & “ U Men”, γιατί έπρεπε να σπεύσουμε στο Werk II για The Damned. Κ αυτό το venue ασφυκτικά γεμάτο, με καθυστέρηση εμφανίστηκαν οι 3 από τους 4 με τον Captain Sensible να κάνει διάφορα αστειάκια, χαμογελαστός κ μιλώντας με τον κόσμο, και μετά από μια σύντομη εισαγωγή, ανέβηκε στη σκηνή ο Dave Vanian φορώντας μαύρα pvc γάντια και λευκή ιατρική -μάλλον –ποδιά. Σε μεγάλα κέφια, με θερμή επαφή με το κοινό, ακούσαμε τα Smash it up”, “We’ ve got a situation here”, “New Rose”. Η εμπειρία και το ταλέντο σε μεγάλα κέφια.

 

Κυριακή 12/06/2011

Σημαντική μέρα για εμάς, καθώς είχαμε προγραμματίσαμε να πάρουμε αποκλειστική συνέντευξη από τους NITZER EBB (θα ανακοινωθεί τις επόμενες μέρες (www.electrowelt.com ). Ξεκινήσαμε με το επιβλητικό, φανταστικό venue Schaubuehne Lindenfels  και τους εξαιρετικούς C.3.3. και τον ιδρυτή των Test Dept, Paul Jamrozy. Εξαιρετικοί experimental, old school industrial ήχοι, συνοδευόταν στη σκηνή από μια κυρία που συχνά χρησιμοποιούσε στην ερμηνεία τους και ένα γραμμόφωνο.  Οι προβολές πίσω τους απεικόνιζαν πολύ συχνά τον Oscar Wilde –κάτι που αποδείχθηκε κάθε άλλο παρά τυχαίο - και όσα μάθαμε από τους ίδιους στη συνέχεια ήταν συγκλονιστικά: ερμήνευσαν  Ballad of Reading Gaol – Cacophonietta”, ένα ποίημα για τη φυλάκιση του Oscar Wilde και εκτέλεση του  συγκρατούμενου C.T.W. Το όνομα του  project C.3.3. αναφέρεται στον αριθμό του κελιού του Oscar Wilde. Αναμφισβήτητα από τις ευτυχείς στιγμές του 20ου WGT.

Επόμενο live το πολυαναμενόμενο σχήμα για εμένα Sophia. Σε συνεργασία με Karjalan sissit, ο martial industrial ήχος τους καταπληκτικός μεν, αλλά θα ήταν καλύτερο να έπιναν λιγότερες μπύρες κ να έπαιζαν live λίγο περισσότερο. Με βαρέλια τα οποία οι 2 από τους 4  χτυπούσαν με το ένα χέρι – στο άλλο απαραίτητα η μπύρα- δε με έπεισαν, περίμενα περισσότερα για τα χρόνια που είναι στο χώρο και το είδος που εκπροσωπούν. Στη συνέχεια μεταβήκαμε στην καταπράσινη σκηνή του Parkbuehne για Pouppee Fabrikk. Ευτυχώς υπήρχε μια καθυστέρηση 5-10 λεπτών και  λάβαμε τις θέσεις μας έγκαιρα. Όλοι οι fans του old school EBM ήταν εκεί και με διάθεση για πολύ χτύπημα! Αν κ πολύ αγαπημένη μπάντα στο είδος, δεν εμφανίζονται πολύ συχνά οι Σουηδοί. Κλασική εμφάνιση με πολλή ενέργεια, με τον πανύψηλο front man να ξεσηκώνει το κοινό – δε θα ήθελα να βρεθώ σε καβγά μαζί του!-  Ακούσαμε τα “Watch your sex”, “Elite Electronics”, “Symptom”.

Η συνέχεια δόθηκε στο Agra, με τους Fields of the Nephilim. O κ. Carl Mc Coy και η παρέα του είναι σίγουρα εγγύηση live, μετά από 7 φορές ακόμη ψάχνω έστω κ ένα μικρό λαθάκι, κάθε φορά που τους βλέπω. Πολλή συγκίνηση, ένας υπερκινητικός αυτή τη φορά Mc Coy, μια φανταστική εμφάνιση και ίσως οι περισσότεροι συνάδελφοι φωτογράφοι στο photo pit από κάθε άλλο live! Ξεχωριστές στιγμές τα Straight to light”, “Love under will”, “Moonchild”, άφησαν τη σκηνή για 5 λεπτά και επέστρεψαν με το μοναδικό Last Exit for the Lost”. Από τις φανταστικές συναυλίες του 20ου WGT. Παραμείναμε στην ίδια σκηνή για τη σπέσιαλ μεταμεσονύκτια εμφάνιση του κου Alan Wilder και των Recoil. Λίγο πριν τη 1, εμφανίστηκε πρώτα ο συνεργάτης του κ στη συνέχεια ο ίδιος, μένοντας στη δεξιά πλευρά της σκηνής, κυριαρχούσαν μόνο οι προβολές των βίντεο στο κέντρο. Mainstream ήχοι που θα μπορούσες να ακούσεις σε ένα club της σειράς, παρόμοια κομμάτια, ειλικρινά δεν αντέξαμε μέχρι το τέλος –δυστυχώς δεν είδαμε τη σύμπραξη επί σκηνής και του Douglas Mc Carthy [Nitzer Ebb] στα “Stalker” & “Faith healer”-. Aπογοητευτική για εμάς εμφάνιση του πρώην μέλους των θρυλικών Depeche Mode.


Δευτέρα 13/06/2011

H μέρα ξεκίνησε με μια ακόμη συνέντευξη με τους Blind Passenger κ τον Nik Page, συνεχίσαμε για τη σκηνή του Alte Messe – Halle 15, όπου και παραμείναμε για όλα τα live. Η αρχή έγινε με τους Absurd Minds, πολύ καλοί,  το κατάμεστο Halle 15 περνούσε καλά και εμείς το ίδιο. Καλύτερες στιγμές τα Herzlos”, “Deception”, “I am dying alone”, “Brainwash” και το cover στο κομμάτι του Johnny Cash “Hurts”. Συνέχεια με Plastic Noise Experience, ένα live που περιμέναμε πολλοί, καθώς είμαστε θαυμαστές τους. Δύο μέλη επί σκηνής και 2 οθόνες προβολής , αγνώριστος ο Claus Kruse με πιο μακρύ μαλλί κ μούσι. Μετά από μια σύντομη εισαγωγή, ανέβηκε στη σκηνή κ ο front man. Πολύ καλή ερμηνεία και ο γνώριμος σκοτεινός ηλεκτρονικός ήχος τους, δυστυχώς δεν ακούσαμε Energie”, “Plastik Fantastik” κ το δικό μου αγαπημένο Deranged”. Πολύ καλή στιγμή Tateinheit”. Οι PNE η ΕΒΜ μουσική σε μια από τις καλύτερες φάσεις της.  Κατά τις 20:45 εμφανίστηκε στη σκηνή μόνος του μόνο με ένα μικρόφωνο, ούτε προβολές ούτε κάτι άλλο να μας αποσπά την προσοχή, ο κ. Dirk Ivens ως DIVE. Πέρα από μουσική ιδιοφυία πρόκειται και για έναν εξαιρετικό ερμηνευτή. Φανταστικό live, χωρίς περιττούς εντυπωσιασμούς, τα έδωσε όλα κυριολεκτικά! Κορυφαίες στιγμές τα There is no hope”, “ Blood Money”, “This is me” και με ανοιχτό πουκάμισο πια “Wake up screaming” & “Pain and Pleasure”. Λίγο πριν τις 22:00, και αφού είχε ετοιμαστεί η σκηνή με πολλές μικρές συσκευές τηλεόρασης και στη θέση του μικροφώνου μια κούκλα με κεφάλι τράγου, ξεκίνησε η εισαγωγή και στα keyboards δε βρέθηκε τελικά ο Rasco, το έτερον ήμισυ των HOCICO. Είχαμε συναντήσει τον Erk και μας είχε πει ότι είχε πρόβλημα με την πτήση του από Μεξικό κ ίσως δεν τα κατάφερνε και ήλπιζε να μη βγάλει το show μόνος του! Ξεκινώντας λοιπόν ο Erk ζήτησε συγγνώμη για την απουσία του Rasco κ μας σύστησε τον αναπληρωτή του στη σκηνή. Γεμάτος ενέργεια και υπερκινητικότατος όπως πάντα, ξεκίνησε με Breathe me tonight”, “Flesh to Lacerate” και Fatal Desire”. Ακολούθησαν τα Dog Eat Dog”, “Bite me” και στο χώρο δεν έπεφτε πια καρφίτσα, όλοι μα όλοι τα έδιναν όλα μαζί με τον Erk! Πανικός στο Forgotten Tears” και Poltergeist”. Μόλις καταφέραμε να πάρουμε μια ανάσα, πριν το headliner της βραδιάς και τελικό live του 20ου WGT, τους NITZER EBB. Στήθηκαν τα drums κ τα keyboards κ το πανό NEP κ πρώτος εμφανίστηκε ο Jason Payne στα drums κ αμέσως μετά ο Bon Harris μέσα σε επευφημίες. Ξεκινώντας την εισαγωγή εμφανίστηκε ο απλά υπέροχος Douglas Mc Carthy με κουστούμι, λευκό πουκάμισο κ γραβάτα, τιμώντας την περίσταση. Κορυφαία συναυλία για το 20ο WGT, τρομερή ενέργεια και καταιγιστικοί ρυθμοί, συμμετοχή και από τους τρεις στο show που πραγματικά είδαμε, δεν μπορώ να σκεφτώ καλύτερο τρόπο να κλείσει  κ αυτό το φεστιβάλ. Δεν ξέρω ποιο κομμάτι να ξεχωρίσω, “Getting Closer”, “Let your Body Learn”, “Once you Say”, “Payroll”, “Lightning Man” ή “Control I’ m here”. Ευχαριστώντας τον κόσμο, βγήκαν για encore το οποίο έκλεισαν με το καταπληκτικό “Join in the Chant”.

Τέλειος επίλογος το apocalyptic folk, neofolk, dark wave party στον ατμοσφαιρικό χώρο του Volkspalast ή Pantheon για φέτος.

Ένα μπράβο στους διοργανωτές για μια ακόμη υπέροχη και ασφαλή διοργάνωση και φυσικά για το πολυποίκιλο πρόγραμμα με σπάνιες εμφανίσεις και φέτος.

Ραντεβού του χρόνου και πάλι στη Λειψία!




The Gallery of WGT 2011 can be found here (All pics by Fotini/MaliceF.):


Upcoming Concerts Greece:

CD Review Gallery (Hit Images to enter our Reviews)

Our latest Tweets

khantry design

Our Partners:

 

 

Electrowelt Soundtrack & Remixes

There seems to be an error with the player !

ew.com Visitors

Total1801027